About The Japanese Society for Sexual Medicine (JSSM) About The Japanese Society for Sexual Medicine (JSSM)

History of the JSSM

Our society began in 1978 as the Japanese Society for Impotence. At that time, research on sexual medicine was at an early stage, even in Western countries. The First World Meeting on Impotence was held in Paris in 1984, and the First Japanese Meeting for Impotence took place at Tokyo Yakugyo Kaikan in January 1979. After that, our society assembled semiannually for 11 years. During that time, the records of the meetings and the constitution were published in our in-house journal, Impotence.

The present society began on January 1, 1990, when the name was changed to JSSM. The current JSSM membership includes experts in a number of disciplines, including urologists, endocrinologists, psychiatrists, gynecologists, surgeons specializing in abdominal and pelvic surgery, and physicians specializing in psychosomatic medicine. Many basic researchers in anatomy, physiology, and pharmacology are also members of the JSSM.


  • Koichi Nagao, Department of Urology, Toho University, Tokyo, Japan


  • Masato Fujisawa, Department of Urology, Kobe University, Kobe, Japan
  • Haruaki Sasaki, Department of Urology, Showa University Fujigaoka Hospital, Kanagawa, Japan
  • Yoshikazu Sato, Sanjyukai Hospital, Hokkaido, Japan
  • Atsushi Nagai, Department of Urology, Kawasaki Medical School, Okayama, Japan
  • Akira Tsujimura, Department of Urology, Juntendo University Urayasu Hospital, Chiba, Japan

Secretary general

  • Koichi Nakajima, Department of Urology, Toho University, Tokyo, Japan